Pompey have sealed a loan deal until January for Ipswich Town’s Matt Clarke who has played in the Blues’ last three pre-season friendlies. 

The 18 year old defender made his League debut for Ipswich Town in the 3-1 win at Millwall in January ’15 and made five appearances last season.

Speaking to the club website he said:

“I’m delighted to be here. I’ve already played a few games, so it’s great to have all the paperwork signed.

I’ve enjoyed the matches that I’ve been involved in so far and have done alright, so now I want to improve from there.

I spent a lot of time on the bench last season and just got a few minutes here and there, so I wanted to go out and hopefully get some more regular football.”

Clarke signed a two-year deal in September and Mick McCarthy has been keen for the youngster to gain valuable experience.

Speaking back in February to Ipswich Town’s website, Clarke said:

“I’d definitely look to go out on loan if the chance was there.

If there was an opportunity to go and play Saturday, Tuesday, Saturday – I would want to take it. That is where you want to be as a player, out on the pitch.

If the gaffer thinks it is the right time for me to go out on loan to continue my development, then that would be it. I’d be on my way.”

McCarthy in an interview with Sports Mole said earlier this month:

“He has been one of the outstanding ones to come through the academy. The only reason he didn’t get games last season was because we had Luke Chambers, Christophe Berra, Tommy Smith and Tyrone Mings, who were outstanding last year.

He’s been great. He’s having a good pre-season and he should have a chance this season. If he doesn’t, we’ll try to get him out on loan.”

Also today, AFC Wimbledon have confirmed the signing of former Pompey defender Paul Robinson who left the club by mutual consent last Friday.

Photo: Official PFC

